Board of Directors

We are your Board of Directors, here to serve you.  We are committed to following Jesus in all that we do on the Board.  If you have questions about Christian Legal Society or how you can serve Jesus through CLS’s ministries, please do not hesitate to contact us using the contact information provided below.  Next to our names is an abbreviation of the Board committees on which we work.  This information can help guide your inquiries if your questions relate to the work of one of the Board committees.  The abbreviations are explained at the end of the list of directors. If you have a nominee for the CLS board of directors, please see our invitation here.

Ex Officio Members

President & Chairman of the Board
Jennifer K. Patrick (All Committees)
Law Offices of Jennifer K. Patrick
San Diego, CA 

Past President
H. Robert Showers  (APF, Audit, BGN, Ex)
Simms and Showers LLP
Leesburg, VA 

Charles M. Oellermann (AM, BGN, Ex)
Jones Day
Columbus, Ohio

Joshua Grosshans (AM, LSM, Conf)
Latham, Shuker, Eden & Beaudine, LLP 
Orlando, Florida 

Sally Wagenmaker (APF, EX, LAM)

Wagenmaker & Oberly
Chicago, IL 60604

Executive Director & CEO
David Nammo  (All Committees except Audit)

Christian Legal Society
Springfield, VA


Richard C. Baker (DEV, LSM)
Mauck & Baker, LLC
Chicago, IL 

Anthony Bushnell (AM, LSM)
The Bushnell Law Firm, LLC
Minneapolis, MN  

Christopher Charles
Provident Law
Scottsdale, AZ

Richard Campanelli (CLRF, LSM)
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA 

Carl H. Esbeck (CLRF)
University of Missouri, School of Law
Columbia, MO

Jeffrey S. Fowler (LAM, DEV)
Laner Muchin, Ltd.
Chicago, Illinois

Michael Hernandez
Dean, Regent University School of Law
Virginia Beach, VA

John Kea
Southern Baptist Foundation
Nashville, TN

Stuart Lark (CLRF, LAM)
Sherman Howard
Colorado Springs, Colorado

Wallace L. Larson (APF, Audit, BGN, Dev)
Carson Messinger PLLC
Phoenix, AZ

Ken Starr (DEV, LSM)
Waco, TX

Myron Steeves (AM, DEV, LSM, Conf)
Law Offices of Myron Steeves and Trinity Law School
Santa Ana, CA 

William Treeby (CLRF)
Stone Pigman Walther Wittmann L.L.C.
New Orleans, LA 

*Abbreviations for Committees:

AC – Advisory Council
APF – Administration, Personnel & Finance
Audit – No abbreviation (under APF)
AM – Attorney Ministries
BGN – Board Governance & Nonimating
CLRF – Center for Law & Religious Freedom
CONF – Conference Committee (Ad hoc committee)
DEV – Development
EX – Executive
LAM – Legal Aid Ministries
LSM – Law Student Ministries